Antithrombotic Therapy in Pediatric Heart Disease

By lesion and procedure, neonate to adolescent: agent, start, target, duration; graded rows by source, adult rows labelled

Lesion or procedure
Systemic-to-PA shunt (mBTT, central) and Norwood

Systemic-to-PA shunt (mBTT, central) and Norwood

Agent
Aspirin; UFH, or bivalirudin, until aspirin starts (AATS 2026, neonates and infants)
Start
Parenteral anticoagulation should be considered until enteral aspirin can start after surgery. Norwood: consider UFH if aspirin cannot start within 48 h
Dose
Aspirin commonly 3–5 mg/kg/dose; UFH 10–15 units/kg/h in most studies, no optimal regimen established (AATS 2026 text)
Duration
Aspirin indefinitely (AATS 2026)
Monitoring
Routine aspirin monitoring typically not required (AATS 2026 Table 3); heparin targets in Targets
Shunt occlusion
IV heparin bolus 50–100 U/kg, raise systemic pressure, ventilate; expect cath, revision or ECMO. Systemic thrombolysis may be harmful (AHA 2013)
Next procedure
Avoid holding aspirin; if it must be held, bridge with LMWH or UFH (AATS 2026)

Graded rows

AATS 2026 Table 6, neonates and infants
ProcedurePost-procedureLong-termBefore another procedure
Systemic-to-pulmonary shunt (mBTT, central shunt) Post-procedure
IB-NR Aspirin
IIaB-NR UFH until aspirin is started
IIbC-EO Bivalirudin until aspirin is started
Long-term
IB-NR Aspirin indefinitely
IIbC-EO Dual antiplatelet therapy for complex shunt scenarios
Before another procedure
IIbC-EO Avoid holding aspirin; if holding is necessary, bridge with LMWH or UFH
Norwood (HLHS) (Sano) Post-procedure
IB-NR Aspirin
IIaB-NR Consider UFH if aspirin cannot start within 48 h
IIbC-EO Consider bivalirudin if aspirin cannot start within 48 h
Long-term
IB-NR Aspirin indefinitely
Before another procedure
IIbC-EO Avoid holding aspirin; if holding, bridge with LMWH or UFH
AHA 2013 §9.1, PTFE systemic-to-PA shunt, infants and children
ClassRecommendationLOE
INo increased bleeding risk: long-term low-dose aspirin B
IIaContinuous low-dose heparin infusion early after surgery, once surgical bleeding concerns have resolvedC
IIaA thrombosis risk factor (suspected or confirmed infection, CVL thrombus, stented shunt, hypercoagulable state): systemic heparinization early after surgery (“probably recommended”)C
IIaAcute shunt thrombosis: IV heparin bolus 50–100 U/kg and consider an infusion; raise systemic pressure (phenylephrine or epinephrine to effect); intubate, ventilate, paralyse; anticipate cath, shunt revision or ECMOC
IIbSustained high risk (stented shunt, hypercoagulable state): anticoagulant plus antiplatelet, e.g. LMWH plus aspirin or clopidogrelC
IIISystemic thrombolysis (e.g. tPA) for shunt thrombosis may be harmfulC
CHEST 2012, modified Blalock-Taussig shunt (MBTS), neonates and children
GradeRecommendationNo.
Grade 2CIntraoperative UFH2.6
Grade 2CAfter surgery: aspirin or no antithrombotic therapy, rather than prolonged LMWH or VKA2.6

Where sources differ

  • Long term: aspirin indefinitely (AATS 2026, I) or long-term aspirin (AHA 2013, I), but aspirin or no therapy (CHEST 2012, 2C).
  • Early heparin until aspirin: AATS 2026 (IIa) and AHA 2013 (IIa); CHEST 2012 grades intraoperative UFH only.
RV–PA conduit (including Sano)

RV–PA conduit (including Sano)

Norwood, Sano
AATS 2026 Table 6 prints a “Norwood (HLHS) (Sano)” row, shown under ; it does not state which row a Norwood with an mBTT shunt follows
Agent
None routinely after surgery; aspirin long term (AATS 2026, neonates and infants)
Start
Pulmonary atresia, RV–PA conduit: none. Rastelli/Nikaidoh, truncus (and Ross/Konno in Table 6): consider UFH if aspirin is necessary for the conduit type and cannot start within 48 h. Low-dose short-acting IV anticoagulation may be considered for the first 24–72 h and first week, until enteral antiplatelet therapy (S23, IIb)
Dose
Low-dose UFH 10–15 units/kg/h; aspirin 3–5 mg/kg/d (AATS 2026 text)
Duration
Aspirin 3–6 months (pulmonary atresia, Rastelli/Nikaidoh) or indefinitely (truncus); indefinitely may be considered by conduit material and risk
Next procedure
Avoid holding aspirin; if necessary, hold for 5–7 d

Graded rows

AATS 2026 Table 6, neonates and infants
ProcedurePost-procedureLong-termBefore another procedure
Pulmonary atresia, RV–PA conduit Post-procedure
IIbC-EO None
Long-term
IIbC-EO Aspirin 3–6 mo
Before another procedure
IIbC-EO Avoid holding aspirin; if necessary, hold 5–7 d
Rastelli or Nikaidoh (RV–PA conduit) Post-procedure
IIbC-EO None; consider UFH if aspirin is needed for the conduit type and cannot start within 48 h
Long-term
IIbC-EO Aspirin 3–6 mo
Before another procedure
IIbC-EO Avoid holding aspirin; if necessary, hold 5–7 d
Truncus arteriosus repair (RV–PA conduit) Post-procedure
IIbC-EO None; consider UFH if aspirin is needed for the conduit type and cannot start within 48 h
Long-term
IIbC-EO Aspirin indefinitely
Before another procedure
IIbC-EO Avoid holding aspirin; if necessary, hold 5–7 d
AATS 2026 statements, conduits, nonautologous patches, extensive baffles
CoRStatementLoE
IIbLow-dose short-acting IV anticoagulation until enteral antiplatelet therapy is feasible, in the immediate (24–72 h) and early (first week) postoperative period (S23)C-EO
IIbLong term: aspirin monotherapy, duration by procedure and thrombotic risk (S24)C-EO

AHA 2013 and CHEST 2012 give no conduit row. AHA 2013: after a bioprosthetic pulmonary valve it is reasonable to forgo anticoagulation ().

Ductal or RVOT stent

Ductal or RVOT stent

Risk tier
Ductal stent for pulmonary blood flow: High. Ductal stent for systemic blood flow, ventricular outflow tract: Low. Stent ≥4 mm (bare-metal or drug-eluting): Low; <4 mm: Moderate; covered stent: High (AATS 2026 Table 7)
Lower risk
Aspirin for 6 months (I); consider prophylactic UFH or LMWH if aspirin cannot start within 24 h (Table 6, IIb)
Higher risk
Therapeutic UFH or LMWH after the procedure (IIa), then aspirin ± clopidogrel for at least 3–6 months (I); aspirin ± LMWH or ± DOAC (IIb) (AATS 2026 Table 6)
Graded rows
; AHA 2013 lists ductal stents among endovascular stents

Table 7 has a Moderate tier that Table 6 does not grade separately; the text says agents escalate from single antiplatelet (low) to dual antiplatelet (moderate) to antiplatelet plus anticoagulant (high), with the plan set by the team.

Bidirectional Glenn, hemi-Fontan, comprehensive stage 2

Bidirectional Glenn, hemi-Fontan, comprehensive stage 2

Early
Glenn or hemi-Fontan: none (AATS 2026, IIa) vs postoperative UFH (CHEST 2012, 2C). Comprehensive stage 2: UFH until aspirin starts (AATS 2026, IIb)
Agent, long term
Aspirin (AATS 2026, I); antiplatelet therapy may be reasonable (AHA 2013, IIb). Comprehensive stage 2: aspirin ± LMWH or ± DOAC for 3–6 months may be considered
Monitoring
Large, persistent pleural effusions: clotting studies, AT III and anti-Xa (AHA 2013, IIb)
Next procedure
Avoid holding aspirin; if holding, bridge with LMWH or UFH (AATS 2026)

Graded rows

AATS 2026 Table 6, neonates and infants
ProcedurePost-procedureLong-termBefore another procedure
Bidirectional Glenn, hemi-Fontan Post-procedure
IIaB-NR None
Long-term
IB-NR Aspirin
Before another procedure
IIbC-EO Avoid holding aspirin; if holding, bridge with LMWH or UFH
Comprehensive stage 2 Post-procedure
IIbC-EO UFH until aspirin is started
Long-term
IB-NR Aspirin
IIbC-EO Aspirin ± LMWH for 3–6 mo
IIbC-EO Aspirin ± DOAC for 3–6 mo
Before another procedure
IIbC-EO Avoid holding aspirin; if holding, bridge with LMWH or UFH
AHA 2013 §9.1–9.2, infants and children
ClassRecommendationLOE
IIbLong-term antiplatelet prophylaxis after a superior cavopulmonary anastomosisC
IIbChronically draining pleural effusions of significant volume: closely monitor clotting studies, AT III and anti-FXa levelsC
CHEST 2012, bilateral cavopulmonary shunt (BCPS), children
GradeRecommendationNo.
Grade 2CPostoperative UFH2.35

Where sources differ

  • Early UFH after a Glenn: none (AATS 2026, IIa, B-NR) vs postoperative UFH (CHEST 2012, 2C).
  • Long term: aspirin, Class I (AATS 2026) vs antiplatelet therapy, IIb (AHA 2013).
Fontan

Fontan

Agent
Aspirin or anticoagulation (warfarin, LMWH). Rivaroxaban: US-labelled for thromboprophylaxis in pediatric patients >2 y of age after Fontan surgery (as stated in AATS 2026 Table 3)
After surgery
Aspirin, or therapeutic UFH then VKA, over no therapy (CHEST 2012, 1C); warfarin or LMWH for 3–12 months may be reasonable (AHA 2013, IIb)
Long term
Antiplatelet therapy reasonable (AHA 2013, IIa); warfarin with risk factors (IIb); escalate in adolescence or adulthood (IIb)
Target
Warfarin INR 2–3; Fontan loading dose 0.1 mg/kg/day (AHA 2013)
Adult
Anticoagulation with known or suspected thrombus, atriopulmonary Fontan, prior thromboembolism, or sustained atrial flutter or fibrillation; otherwise aspirin or anticoagulation (ACHD 2025, 1, B-NR)
Monitoring
Periodic TTE looking for thrombus (AHA 2013, I); INR in Targets. Large, persistent pleural effusions: clotting studies, AT III and anti-Xa (AHA 2013 §9.1, IIb; row under )

Graded rows

AHA 2013 §9.2, palliated single ventricle (any stage)
ClassRecommendationLOE
IIaLong-term antiplatelet therapy after the FontanC
IIbWarfarin or LMWH for 3 to 12 months after the FontanC
IIbLong-term warfarin after the Fontan with anatomic or hemodynamic risk factorsC
IIaStart or escalate therapy (antiplatelet to anticoagulant, or higher targets) if risk factors are present (become present) at any stageC
IIbStart or escalate therapy after the Fontan in adolescence or adulthoodC
IAssess anatomic and hemodynamic risk factors; correct or minimize themB
IReassess risk factors serially; correct new onesC
IPeriodic TTE with attention to thrombusC
IIaSuspected thrombus: confirm with TEE, MRI, CT, CT angiography, lung perfusion scan or venography/angiographyC
IIbWith risk factors, TEE or MRI for surveillanceC
CHEST 2012, children
GradeRecommendationNo.
Grade 1CAspirin, or therapeutic UFH followed by VKA, over no therapy2.36
Adult ACHD 2025, adults with Fontan circulation
CORRecommendationLOE
1Adult Known or suspected thrombus, atriopulmonary Fontan, history of thromboembolism, or sustained atrial flutter or fibrillation: anticoagulationB-NR
1Adult No high-risk features and no bleeding contraindication: aspirin or anticoagulationB-NR

AHA 2019 Fontan statement, Table 18 (no class): risk of thromboembolism is increased; the best prevention is unclear, but some thromboprophylaxis, antiplatelet or anticoagulant, is warranted.

Direct oral anticoagulant trials
  • UNIVERSE (McCrindle 2021): ages 2–8 y, within 4 months of the Fontan, open-label, 12 months; rivaroxaban (weight-adjusted, twice daily) vs aspirin about 5 mg/kg daily. Thrombotic events 2% vs 9% (not powered for efficacy); major bleeding 2% (1 epistaxis needing transfusion) vs 0.
  • SAXOPHONE (Payne 2023) abstract: 28 days to <18 y, 74% single ventricle; apixaban vs VKA or LMWH, 1 year. Major or clinically relevant bleeding 0.8% vs 4.8%; all bleeding nearly twice as frequent on apixaban; no thromboembolic events.
  • ENNOBLE-ATE (Portman 2022) abstract: <18 y with cardiac disease; edoxaban once daily vs standard care, 3 months: one nonmajor clinically relevant bleed per group; one standard-care patient with DVT and PE.

Where sources differ

  • CHEST 2012 recommends aspirin or UFH then VKA (1C); AHA 2013 grades antiplatelet IIa and early warfarin or LMWH IIb; ACHD 2025 (Adult): with high-risk features, anticoagulation; otherwise “either aspirin or anticoagulation is recommended” (both 1, B-NR).
Mechanical valve

Mechanical valve

Agent
VKA (warfarin) for the life of the valve; UFH, or bivalirudin, until therapeutic on enteral anticoagulation (AATS 2026)
Mitral INR
2.5–3.5 (AATS 2026 infants, I, A; AHA 2013, I, C)
Aortic INR
2–3 (AATS 2026 infants, I, A). AHA 2013: bileaflet or Medtronic Hall 2.0–3.0; 2.5–3.5 with risk factors, with Starr-Edwards valves or mechanical disk valves (other than Medtronic Hall), and in the first 3 months
Add aspirin
May be considered with an indication and low bleeding risk, low dose 3–5 mg/kg (AATS 2026, IIb); recommended in adults (AHA 2013, I, Adult; data in children limited)
Bridging
If the procedure requires bridging, consider LMWH or UFH if INR <2 (mitral) or <1.5 (aortic) during VKA interruption (AATS 2026, IIb, C-EO, both)
Monitoring
INR daily until therapeutic, then at least monthly; retest with illness, diet or drug change (AHA 2013)
Avoid
DOACs should not be used in infants with mechanical valves (AATS 2026 Table 3)

Graded rows

AATS 2026 Table 6, neonates and infants
ProcedurePost-procedureLong-termBefore another procedure
Mitral valve replacement (mechanical) Post-procedure
IA UFH until therapeutic on enteral anticoagulation
IIbC-EO Bivalirudin until therapeutic on enteral anticoagulation
Long-term
IA VKA, INR goal 2.5–3.5, + aspirin if there is an indication for antiplatelet therapy
Before another procedure
IIbC-EO If the procedure requires bridging, consider LMWH or UFH if INR <2 during VKA interruption
Aortic valve replacement (mechanical) Post-procedure
IA UFH until therapeutic on enteral anticoagulation
IIbC-EO Bivalirudin until therapeutic on enteral anticoagulation
Long-term
IA VKA, INR goal 2–3, + aspirin if there is an indication for antiplatelet therapy
Before another procedure
IIbC-EO If the procedure requires bridging, consider LMWH or UFH if INR <1.5 during VKA interruption
AATS 2026 statement, infants
CoRStatementLoE
IIbAspirin added to VKA (mechanical mitral or aortic) with an indication for antithrombotic therapy and low bleeding risk (S34)C-EO
AHA 2013 §9.3, children
ClassRecommendationLOE
IMitral, any mechanical valve: warfarin, INR 2.5–3.5C
IAortic, bileaflet or Medtronic Hall: warfarin, INR 2.0–3.0; with risk factors 2.5–3.5C
IAortic, Starr-Edwards valves or mechanical disk valves (other than Medtronic Hall), no risk factors: warfarin, INR 2.5–3.5C
IIaFirst 3 months after mechanical aortic valve: warfarin, INR 2.5–3.5C
IUnable to take warfarin after mitral or aortic replacement: low-dose aspirinC
IAdult Add low-dose aspirin to warfarin: mechanical valves, and bioprosthetic valves with risk factors (adult guidelines; data in children limited)C

Where sources differ

  • Mechanical aortic valve: INR 2–3 in infants (AATS 2026, I, A) vs 2.5–3.5 with risk factors, with Starr-Edwards or non-Medtronic Hall disk valves, or in the first 3 months (AHA 2013).
  • Adding aspirin: IIb, C-EO in infants (AATS 2026 S34) vs Class I for adults (AHA 2013).
Bioprosthetic or transcatheter valve

Bioprosthetic or transcatheter valve

Aortic, mitral
No risk factors: low-dose aspirin; warfarin INR 2.0–3.0 reasonable for the first 3 months. With risk factors: warfarin INR 2.0–3.0 (AHA 2013)
Pulmonary
Reasonable to forgo anticoagulation (AHA 2013, IIa)
Tricuspid
Warfarin INR 2.0–3.0 for 3–6 months and lifelong low-dose aspirin (IIa); long-term warfarin with reduced RV function or risk factors (IIb)
Neonates, infants
By valve type, position and risk (AATS 2026, IIa); Melody mitral: institutional pathway (IIa). Text: high-risk infants may benefit from short-term IV, then enteral anticoagulation for 3 months, then lifelong antiplatelet therapy
Transcatheter
No graded pediatric row for transcatheter pulmonary valves in these sources

Graded rows

AATS 2026 statements, neonates and infants
CoRStatementLoE
IIaThromboprophylaxis after any valve replacement based on valve characteristics, location, bleeding and thrombotic risk (S30)C-EO
IIaMelody (Medtronic) mitral valve: institutional care pathways and multidisciplinary team (S32)C-EO
AHA 2013 §9.3, children (risk factors: previous thromboembolism, systemic ventricular dysfunction, hypercoagulable condition)
ClassRecommendationLOE
IAortic or mitral, no risk factors: low-dose aspirinC
IAortic with risk factors: warfarin, INR 2.0–3.0C
IMitral with risk factors: warfarin, INR 2.0–3.0C
IIaAortic or mitral, no risk factors, first 3 months: warfarin, INR 2.0–3.0C
IIaPulmonary: forgo anticoagulationC
IIaTricuspid, with or without decreased function: warfarin, INR 2.0–3.0 for 3–6 monthsC
IIaTricuspid: lifelong low-dose aspirinC
IIbTricuspid with decreased RV function or risk factors: long-term warfarin, INR 2.0–3.0C
Endovascular stents and septal devices

Endovascular stents and septal devices

Lower risk
Aspirin for 6 months (AATS 2026, I; AHA 2013 noncoronary stents, at least 6 months, I). If aspirin cannot start within 24 h and the risk of thrombosis is deemed to outweigh the risk of bleeding, parenteral anticoagulation at prophylaxis dosing may be considered: UFH 10–15 units/kg/h or LMWH to anti-Xa 0.2–0.5 U/mL, or per institutional protocol (AATS 2026 text; Table 6, IIb)
Higher risk
Therapeutic UFH or LMWH after the procedure (AATS 2026, IIa, C-EO), then aspirin ± clopidogrel for at least 3–6 months (I, B-NR); aspirin ± LMWH or ± DOAC (IIb, C-EO). AHA 2013: in the absence of contraindications, warfarin or LMWH ± antiplatelet for 3–6 months, then antiplatelet (IIa)
Septal devices
Aspirin for at least 6 months (AHA 2013: ASD I, VSD IIa)
At placement
UFH 100 U/kg (maximum 5000 U); ASD devices at least 100 U/kg (AHA 2013, I)
Next procedure
Lower risk: avoid holding aspirin; if necessary, hold 5–7 d. Higher risk: avoid holding aspirin; if holding aspirin, bridge with LMWH or UFH (AATS 2026)
Thrombosis risk after catheter procedures, AATS 2026 Table 7
LowModerateHigh
Hardware Low
  • Bare-metal stent ≥4 mm
  • Drug-eluting stent ≥4 mm
  • Intracardiac devices
Moderate
  • Bare-metal stent <4 mm
  • Drug-eluting stent <4 mm
  • Flow restrictor (modified Medtronic microvascular plug)
High
  • Covered stent
Location Low
  • Ductal stent for systemic blood flow
  • Pulsatile pulmonary artery
  • Systemic artery
  • Atrial or ventricular septum
  • Ventricular outflow tract
  • Ventricle–pulmonary artery conduit
Moderate
  • Coronary artery
  • Nonpulsatile pulmonary artery
  • Systemic vein
  • Pulmonary vein
High
  • Ductal stent for pulmonary blood flow
  • Postoperative (<30 d) nonpulsatile pulmonary artery
  • Recanalized or severely hypoplastic pulmonary vein

Graded rows

AATS 2026 Table 6, catheterization, neonates and infants
Thrombosis riskPost-procedureLong-termBefore another procedure
Lower risk Post-procedure
IIbC-EO None; consider prophylactic UFH or LMWH if aspirin cannot start within 24 h
Long-term
IB-NR Aspirin for 6 mo
Before another procedure
IIbC-EO Avoid holding aspirin; if necessary, hold 5–7 d
Higher risk Post-procedure
IIaC-EO Therapeutic UFH or LMWH
Long-term
IB-NR Aspirin ± clopidogrel for at least 3–6 mo
IIbC-EO Aspirin ± LMWH for at least 3–6 mo
IIbC-EO Aspirin ± DOAC for at least 3–6 mo
Before another procedure
IIbC-EO Avoid holding aspirin; if holding, bridge with LMWH or UFH
AHA 2013 §13.3, children
ClassRecommendationLOE
IStent placement: UFH bolus 100 U/kg (maximum 5000 U)C
INoncoronary stents: low-dose aspirin for at least 6 monthsC
IIaHigher-risk lesions (nonpulsatile flow, previous complete occlusion, thrombophilic abnormality), in the absence of contraindications: warfarin or LMWH ± antiplatelet for 3–6 months, then antiplatelet aloneC
IASD device: at least 100 U/kg UFH (maximum 5000 U) at implantationC
IASD device: low-dose aspirin for at least 6 monthsC
IIbASD device, older children and adults: another anticoagulant with aspirin for 3–6 monthsC
IVSD device: UFH 100 U/kg (maximum 5000 U) at implantationC
IIaVSD device: low-dose aspirin for at least 6 monthsC
CHEST 2012, children
GradeRecommendationNo.
Grade 2CEndovascular stents: UFH perioperatively2.37

Where sources differ

  • Higher-risk stents: a combination including aspirin ± clopidogrel, Class I (AATS 2026), vs warfarin or LMWH ± antiplatelet, IIa (AHA 2013).
  • Lower-risk stents, 6 months of aspirin: level B-NR (AATS 2026) vs C (AHA 2013).
Catheter-related (CVL) thrombosis

Catheter-related (CVL) thrombosis

Prevention
Remove lines once no longer essential (AHA 2013, I). Children with short- or medium-term CVADs: no routine systemic prophylaxis (CHEST 2012, 1B). Neonates and infants with CVCs: may be considered by risk (AATS 2026, IIb). Fontan candidates, or bacteremia or a hypercoagulable factor: low-dose IV heparin may be reasonable (AHA 2013, IIb). Neonates: UFH 0.5 units/kg/h is recommended to maintain CVAD patency, over no prophylaxis (CHEST 2012, 1A)
Treatment
Anticoagulate symptomatic thrombosis (ASH 2018, strong): UFH or LMWH initially, for at least 5 days (CHEST 2012, 1B); LMWH or VKA (ASH 2018, conditional)
Duration
≤3 months if provoked; longer could be considered if the risk factor persists (ASH 2018). 3 months once the risk factor resolves; beyond 3 months while a reversible risk factor is ongoing (CHEST 2012, 2C). Neonates, if anticoagulated: 6 weeks to 3 months; or supportive care with imaging (CHEST 2012)
The line
Nonfunctioning or not needed: remove after at least 3–5 days of anticoagulation (CHEST 2012; ASH 2018: some days after anticoagulation starts). Functioning and needed: keep it (ASH 2018; CHEST 2012)
Line kept
After 3 months: prophylactic VKA, INR 1.5–1.9, or LMWH, anti-Xa 0.1–0.3 units/mL, until removal (CHEST 2012, 2C)
Right atrium
Anticoagulation for right atrial thrombosis (ASH 2018, conditional)

Graded rows

AATS 2026 statement, neonates and infants with CHD
CoRStatementLoE
IIbThromboprophylaxis with a CVC, by patient and anatomic risk factors, weighed against bleeding (S29)C-EO
AHA 2013 §8.1, children with CHD
ClassRecommendationLOE
IRemove CVLs as soon as no longer clinically essential; review every line dailyC
IIaThrombus on imaging: consider removing the CVL, weighing embolization; follow with serial imagingC
IIaDocumented acute CVL thrombus: anticoagulation if no contraindicationB
IIbFuture Fontan candidates: low-dose IV heparin until the CVL is removedC
IIbCVL with bacteremia or a hypercoagulable risk factor (high hematocrit, prior thrombosis, thrombophilia): low-dose IV heparin until removalC
CHEST 2012, central venous access devices (CVADs)
GradeRecommendationNo.
Grade 1BChildren, short- or medium-term CVADs: against routine systemic thromboprophylaxis2.31
Grade 1ANeonates: UFH continuous infusion at 0.5 units/kg per h to maintain CVAD patency, over no prophylaxis2.4
Grade 1BChildren, first VTE: UFH or LMWH, initially for at least 5 days2.22.1
Grade 2CChildren, secondary VTE with the risk factor resolved: anticoagulate for 3 months; with an ongoing but potentially reversible risk factor, continue beyond 3 months (therapeutic or prophylactic doses) until it resolves2.22.3
Grade 1BCVAD no longer required or nonfunctioning: remove2.22.6
Grade 2CAt least 3–5 days of anticoagulation before removal2.22.6
Grade 2CCVAD functioning and still required: leave in place and anticoagulate2.22.6
Grade 2CCVAD still needed after 3 months: prophylactic VKA (INR 1.5–1.9) or LMWH (anti-Xa 0.1–0.3 units/mL) until removal; if thrombosis recurs on prophylaxis, therapeutic doses until the CVAD is removed and for a minimum of 3 months following the VTE2.22.7
Grade 2CNeonates, CVAD or UVC with confirmed thrombosis: either initial anticoagulation or supportive care with radiologic monitoring for extension, rather than no follow-up; in previously untreated patients, start anticoagulation if extension occurs2.1
Grade 2CNeonates, CVAD or UVC with thrombosis: remove after 3–5 days of therapeutic anticoagulation2.1
Grade 2CNeonates, if anticoagulated: LMWH, or UFH then LMWH, for 6 weeks to 3 months in total2.1
Grade 2CNeonates, line still in place when treatment ends: prophylactic dose until removal2.1
ASH 2018, pediatric VTE (all very low certainty of evidence)
StrengthRecommendationCertainty
StrongSymptomatic DVT or PE: anticoagulation rather than nonevery low
ConditionalLMWH or VKAvery low
ConditionalProvoked DVT or PE: ≤3 months rather than longervery low
ConditionalFunctioning CVAD still needed: do not removevery low
StrongNonfunctioning or unneeded CVAD: removevery low
ConditionalRemove it some days after anticoagulation starts, not immediatelyvery low
ConditionalRight atrial thrombosis: anticoagulation rather than nonevery low

Where sources differ

  • Thrombus on a line: consider removal (AHA 2013, IIa) vs keep a functioning line that is still needed (ASH 2018; CHEST 2012).
  • Prophylaxis, in different groups: against routine use in children with short- or medium-term CVADs (CHEST 2012, 1B); may be considered by risk in neonates and infants with CVCs (AATS 2026, IIb); low-dose heparin may be reasonable in Fontan candidates or with bacteremia or a hypercoagulable factor (AHA 2013, IIb).
  • Duration: ≤3 months if provoked (ASH 2018) vs 3 months (CHEST 2012, children) vs 6 weeks to 3 months if anticoagulated (CHEST 2012, neonates); both allow longer while a risk factor persists.
Kawasaki disease

Kawasaki disease

Antithrombotic management by coronary risk level (AHA 2024 Table 2) is on Kawasaki Coronary Z-Scores.

Targets and doses as printed

AgentTarget or doseSource
UFH, therapeuticAnti-Xa 0.35–0.7 U/mL; if unavailable, PTT 1.5–3× baseline AHA 2013 Table 3; CHEST 2012 1.1
UFH, low dose10–15 U/kg/h AHA 2013 Table 3; AATS 2026
LMWH, therapeuticAnti-Xa 0.5–1.0 U/mL at 4–6 h after the dose (or 0.5–0.8 at 2–6 h, CHEST) CHEST 2012 1.2; AHA 2013 Table 3
LMWH, prophylacticAnti-Xa 0.2–0.5 U/mL after a lower-risk stent (AATS) · 0.1–0.3 units/mL with a line kept after VTE (CHEST) AATS 2026 text; CHEST 2012 2.22.7
Warfarin (VKA)INR 2–3 (CHEST: 2.5, range 2.0–3.0); mechanical mitral 2.5–3.5; mechanical aortic in Mechanical valve AHA 2013 Table 3; CHEST 2012 1.3
Warfarin, prophylacticINR 1.5–1.9 (line kept after VTE)CHEST 2012 2.22.7
Aspirin1–5 mg/kg/day (maximum 81–325 mg/day, AHA) · AATS: 3–5 (unit as printed varies, frequency not stated) AHA 2013 Table 3; CHEST 2012 1.5; AATS 2026
Clopidogrel0.2–1 mg/kg/dayAHA 2013 Table 3
Starting doses, holds before procedures, DOAC labels
  • Starting doses (AHA 2013 Table 3; CHEST 2012 Table 5): UFH therapeutic 28 U/kg/h under 12 months, 20 U/kg/h from 12 months (AHA). Enoxaparin, therapeutic (initial treatment dose) every 12 h: 1.5 mg/kg per dose under 2 months, 1.0 mg/kg from 2 months (AHA ≥2 mo; CHEST >2 mo); neonates may need higher doses (AHA 2013, AATS 2026). Enoxaparin, initial prophylactic dose every 12 h: 0.75 mg/kg per dose under 2 months, 0.5 mg/kg per dose over 2 months (CHEST Table 5). Warfarin load 0.2 mg/kg/day, after Fontan 0.1 mg/kg/day (AHA).
  • Approximate hold before a moderate- or high-bleeding-risk procedure (AATS 2026 Table 9; longer with renal impairment or high bleeding risk): UFH 4–6 h; LMWH 12–24 h; bivalirudin 2–3 h; argatroban 8–10 h; rivaroxaban 6–10 h; apixaban 24–48 h; dabigatran 36–72 h; edoxaban no infant data; warfarin 3–5 d; aspirin 5–7 d; clopidogrel 5–7 d; dipyridamole 24–48 h. Bridging is not typically used for DOACs. AHA 2013: aspirin commonly stopped 7 d before surgery; LMWH held 24 h.
  • DOACs, US-labelled pediatric uses as AATS 2026 Table 3 states them: dabigatran, VTE treatment after at least 5 d of UFH or LMWH and secondary prophylaxis (3 months to <12 y); rivaroxaban, VTE treatment after at least 5 d of UFH or LMWH and thromboprophylaxis after Fontan surgery from >2 y; apixaban, VTE treatment after at least 5 d of UFH or LMWH; edoxaban, not approved in children. None should be used in infants with mechanical valves or antiphospholipid syndrome.

Key points

Sources and how this page was checked

Full text read

Abstract only

How it was checked

Not covered on this page